Feeling Uninspired? You’re Not Alone


Blank page

Is the blank page of death staring you down? (Photo credit: Freidwall)

I want to begin this post by saying “thank you” to fellow blogger Kelly St. Claire for inspiring this post.  She wrote a post about feeling uninspired that I could really relate to.

This week in blogging has been a real drag for me—I simply do not want to do it.  Actually, the past two weeks have been a real drag for me, but this week has been especially hideous.  I started off the week with the idea of making it all about lists in my Monday-Thursday posts because I like lists, and they’re easy for me to whip together in 30 minutes or less.

Meh…

I haven’t really liked any of my posts this week, and by the looks of my stats, my readers aren’t really too enthused with what I’ve written either.  Haha!  Sorry, my babies, I will try to get back to writing quality stuff on Friday and Saturday.  I really enjoy writing the posts for Favorite Quotes Friday and Silent Star Saturday.  And I have some great posts coming up for those days thanks to Google search queries that lead people to my blog.  Stay tuned!

If you are a blogger who is feeling uninspired lately, know this:  you are not alone and you are allowed to have an off week where your posts aren’t as delightful and sharable as you would like.  If you’ve tried using all sorts of writing prompts and nothing is coming to you, it is okay to step away from the computer and take a break from writing.  You cannot force inspiration.  It’s sort of like a new romance.  If you go looking for it, most of the time you’ll never find it.   But the second you stop looking, something comes along to inspire you.  Funny how that works, isn’t it?

All writers have a slump.  Just keep working through it, even if you think everything you write is rubbish and nobody wants to read it.  I can guarantee that at least two eyes other than your own will land on what you’ve written, and those eyes might like what they see and continue coming back to your blog.  So don’t give up.

Are you having one of those weeks where nothing is coming to you and you’re struggling just to find something to talk about?  How do you get over it?  Please share any tips or tricks by leaving a comment below.  And if you’re interested in seeing if I can get over my two-week slump, you can subscribe to my blog via RSS or e-mail. *hint, hint* I look forward to your  feedback!

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Maybe it’s because these past few days have been the hump days in this challenge. We’re on the downside now, I think I have an advantage in writing a series because it helps keep me focused.

    Reply
    • That is true, Julia. There’s less than two weeks to go in the challenge…and I am surprised I have lasted this long lol.

      Writing a series definitely helps with inspiration. You know where you’ve been and know where you are going with it.

      Reply
  2. I think it’s much better to not post if you don’t feel it’s a quality piece of writing. I have several pieces on the back burner that are not fully edited. I find the slumps to be a good time to work on those. My last post sat for a year. I took some “slump time” and finally finished it. It was worth the wait, having high readership.
    The other thing–I now have the luxury of a nice guest author, someone who doesn’t have time keep up a blog but likes to write. Maybe you know someone like that. It has to be someone who gives you the freedom to edit. I edit and submit to him for final approval. It’s working great. (In fact, you referred one of his articles, of which I expressed appreciation for–and still do.)
    Just some ideas.
    I enjoy your blog.
    Peace,
    Alexandria

    Reply
    • I think it’s always good to have a second set of eyes for my posts because I am my own worst critic. The nag in my head likes to tell me all my posts are rubbish.

      I have a couple guest posts coming up in the near future. I don’t know when they will appear on here, exactly, especially with one because there was a delay in a biography he’s written on Peg Entwistle.

      Reply

Leave a comment

Anti-State STL

A clearinghouse for anti-capitalist news & analyses in metro St. Louis

ghostnapped

Ashley Howland Author WordPress.com site