Live Life Like a Little Kid Does


Aria

Aria making fire fairies with her magic wand

Yesterday afternoon, I went to a six-year-old girl’s birthday party.  Everything was super girly—pink and purple decorations, a huge Hello Kitty cake, laughing little girls running and skipping around the house.  The day before that, she had another party (on her actual birthday), a theme party where everyone came dressed up as a fairy princess.

I enjoy studying people and their reactions to certain situations, so at this party, I observed how the little girl—who is my cousin’s daughter, Aria, by the way—and her friends played with one another and their general reactions to things.

As I pointed out in a post back in July, there are many lessons we can learn from children.  They can teach us how to think and behave in almost every situation in life.  And today’s post is going to expand upon that, and I hope that you will begin to life your life like a little kid does.   At the very least it will be good for your mental health.

Be grateful for everything in your life, even the smallest things

At yesterday’s party, Aria opened a mountain of gifts.  She got everything from new coats (one of cousin Angie’s gifts) and those bizarre lalaloopsy dolls to an airbrush tattoo kit (another gift from cousin Angie).  Surrounded by a load of expensive gifts, I was not surprised when she became instantly attached to a little stuffed dog she got from her uncle.  Aria has always had a knack for appreciating the small things in life.

I hope that she keeps up this attitude as she grows older.  And I think we should all begin to appreciate the smallest things in life.

You may not think you have a lot of things going on for you, whether it’s looks, money, clothes, whatever.  But do you have a job?  How about food to eat or a roof over your head?  Even if you do not have all those things, you still have air to breathe, your health…and hope.  Be grateful for those things.

Make friends wherever you go

Little Aria has charisma.  She can make friends wherever she goes—at the park, at the supermarket, just walking down the street.  And from the start, she considers everyone she meets a “friend.” She makes no enemies.

If everyone had that attitude, we would be one step closer to world peace, don’t you think?

The next time you are out and about, stop and say hi to someone passing you on the street, or nod at smile at the person standing next to you on a subway platform and engage them in conversation.  Do not concern yourself with thoughts about whether you sound or look foolish,  or if that person looks like someone you want to talk with.  Be open and be friendly.  And do not judge a book by its cover.

Set aside some time for play

Puppy Dance

Aria demonstrating her “Puppy Dance” at the park

When we become adults, sometimes we forget about playing and having fun. We should stop doing that.  We should revert back to childhood for at least twenty minutes each day and play.  Seriously.  Just go outside and skip and laugh; bring some sidewalk chalk or bubbles with you and act like a kid again.

You didn’t think I actually meant playing like a little kid, did you?  You thought I was going to talk about going to bars, dancing, and doing all the “play” that adults engage in.  Nope.  I meant what I said.  Play like a child.

Grab your spouse or best friends and start a game of tag or hopscotch, or hide and go seek.

If you are highly stressed from work or some other aspect of your life, taking that twenty-minute break to go back to a childhood game does wonders for you.  Trust me.

What other things can a person do to live life like a little kid does?  Do you have any suggestions?  Please leave a comment below and let me know what sort of things you would do or have done.

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Loved this one! I so agree! Kids are wise teachers for us adults. I love having an Outer Child myself and think it’s great to have pink, glitter, and Hello Kitty. You’re never too old to live free like that…IMHO, people want to grow up too fast. Life should be more fun 🙂

    Reply
    • Angie Hottentots-Laurel

       /  October 14, 2012

      I remember when I was little I always said I wanted to be grown so I could do all sorts of stuff…now I want to go back to being a little kid.

      I’m never happy! lol

      Reply
  2. I love this post for various reasons; the backdrop of a child’s birthday party, lovely, lovely little girl with an adorable name I never heard before, and wisdom laced through it all. What other thing … for me wonder, wonder like a little kids have … marvel at life, be curious about it!
    Thank you for a lovely post,
    Daniela

    Reply
    • Angie Hottentots-Laurel

       /  October 15, 2012

      Thanks for dropping by Daniela! I’m glad you like it.

      I learn all sorts of junk from Aria. lol She’s the coolest little kid I’ve ever met.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Sweet Jelly Bean

Indulging Beauty Cravings

Anti-State STL

A clearinghouse for anti-capitalist news & analyses in metro St. Louis

ghostnapped

Ashley Howland Author WordPress.com site

Tamara Tattles

Come for the tea. Stay for the shade.

