Who or What Is Really in Control of Your Day?


favorite quote

Either you run the day or the day runs you

~Jim Rohn

The above quote  from Jim Rohn is something I need to remember—it’s something we all probably need to remember, is it not?  If we do not take control of our days and make things happen, we cannot expect things to go our way, can we?

So who or what is really in control of your day?

Do you wake up in the morning and decide that it is going to be a good day, and that you are going to do everything you have on your agenda?  Or do you just “go with the flow” and take life as it comes?  If you lean more toward the latter, are you really getting everything you want out of life?  If you are, good for you!  If you are not, perhaps it is time you start with a plan…and stick to it.

It all begins with positive thinking

English: Think positive

Think positive (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Something positive can happen during even the worst situations you can imagine.  For instance, if you are in a car accident and you lose use of your limbs (or lose your limbs completely), but you still have your life, you should be grateful.  You can still wake up and see the sun shine for at least one more day.  You still have the opportunity to make a difference in the world, even if it is a small one.

All you have to do is find the proverbial silver lining.

The next time you are faced with a difficult situation, do your best to think positive thoughts.  You will be surprised at what a difference positive thinking can make in a negative situation.

It is all up to YOU

If you are simply waiting for something good to happen, you are going to be waiting for a mighty long time, my friend.  Once you dream up something, you have to put those thoughts into action.  Nobody else is going to do it for you.  It is all up to you.

And if you want things to run smoothly, you have to put those actions into a manageable plan.   Sure, there are some things you can do impulsively, but overall, it is better to plan out your life.  I learned from years of experience that careful planning goes a long way.

And remember the late Jim Rohn’s words:  Either you run the day or the day runs you.

YOU are in the driver’s seat in life.  Do not let anyone or anything control the wheel for you.

Leave a comment

12 Comments

  1. Hottentots, huh? Pretty cool! Anyway, thanks for stopping by my blog, “Catalyst Quotes” and relating it to your story on “Who or What is Really in Control of Your Day”. We seem to think alike. I like the quote by Jim Rohn and will give you another to think about: “Control your desting or someone else will.” – Jack Welch.

    Have a positive day!

    Reply
    • Angie Hottentots-Laurel

       /  October 12, 2012

      Thanks for dropping by! 🙂

      And that is another great quote. It’s all very simple common sense advice, and you think that we humans would be able to always put these things into practice, but sometimes we need gentle reminders. 😉

      Reply
      • gmuniverse

         /  October 12, 2012

        You are right. It is common sense. However, I am at a loss for words at times when I want to convey a message so I send out quotes to say what I feel. As Montaigne said – “I quote others only to better express myself.”

      • Angie Hottentots-Laurel

         /  October 12, 2012

        Hahaha! Yes! That is why I started favorite quote Fridays! ;p

  2. Angie,
    It’s a good thing to keep in mind. However, it is also good to realize that not everyone is going to be able to function well with an overly structured approach to life, for a variety of reasons and that finding the positive in the negative is an acquired skill that has to be observed, learned, and practiced in order to develop for many, especially for those who may have genetic, neurological, and psychological defects, damage, or disorders.

    Reminders like this are good for people like me.

    Thank you,
    Kina

    Reply
    • Angie Hottentots-Laurel

       /  October 12, 2012

      I agree with that, Kina. I think it is best for people to live their lives on their terms (if they can) as opposed to having someone else making decisions for them.

      Indeed, it is hard to do if one hasn’t the sound mind required for independent thinking. And finding the positive in things such as death or some other tragedy is EXTREMELY difficult. For instance, a young child is killed in a hit and run—there is seemingly no positive in that at all. I certainly don’t want to conjure up one. So there are some exceptions to this “rule”.

      Reply
      • Human In Recovery

         /  October 12, 2012

        I knew you were an insightful and reasonable woman.

        By the way, just thought I’d let you know that my youngest is learning an appreciation for b&w television classics from her father. Not yet four years old and she has an appreciation for The Honeymooners.

      • Angie Hottentots-Laurel

         /  October 12, 2012

        Oh that is splendid! 😀 I live my whole life in b&w so I am thrilled by anyone in the younger set who develops an appreciation for all things classic.

  3. Thanks for the link to my blog! A quote your post really reminded me of was “Be the change you want to see in the world.” by Gandhi. ^_^

    Reply
    • Angie Hottentots-Laurel

       /  October 12, 2012

      Great quote! I remember seeing that quote float around on fliers and other things a lot when I was in college. 😀

      Reply
  4. Daniela

     /  October 12, 2012

    Hi Angie,
    I’d like to think that I am in charge of my day and my life … but all it needs to happen is for me to turn my laptop on and then here we go … the lure of blogosphere is upon me and here I am reading, writing, visiting … well so much for being in charge -:)
    Take Care,
    Daniela

    Reply
    • Angie Hottentots-Laurel

       /  October 12, 2012

      UGH I know exactly what you mean, Daniela! The same thing happens to me.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Sweet Jelly Bean

Indulging Beauty Cravings

Anti-State STL

A clearinghouse for anti-capitalist news & analyses in metro St. Louis

ghostnapped

Ashley Howland Author WordPress.com site

Tamara Tattles

Come for the tea. Stay for the shade.

