The 31 Flavors of October


October

October (Photo credit: ccrrii)

Happy Monday and Happy October, everyone!  *sniffs the air*  MMM…I love a new month smell, don’t you?  October is especially pleasant because the days are shorter and autumn is in full swing.  The leaves turn brilliant colors and then fall dead from skinny tree branches.  And pretty soon, adults and children alike will build bonfires and dress up in bizarre costumes to get money and candy…and loads of attention.

The freaks come out at night in October, my babies….

This day, October 1, also marks the beginning of a brand new Ultimate Blog Challenge!  If you haven’t already signed up, I highly urge you to do it.  You will meet a lot of fantastic people and will discover all sorts of things about yourself and your blog.  Sign up and participation is easy!  All you have to do is register at the site, post new content at least 31 times throughout the month, and share what you posted.  That’s it!

This month I am determined to finish this challenge.  I participated in July this year and with less than a week to go in the challenge, my computer died and I began a months-long battle with AT&T so I was unable to finish it.  That made me so mad!  But I am keeping my fingers crossed that no bad things happen this month.  I want to accomplish just this one little thing, dammit.  *shakes threatening fist at the Internet Gods* DO NOT mess this up for me, you guys!

Now that I have that out of the way, I think I should tell you what my theme is going to be for the month of October.  Ladies and gents, I want you to think  of this post as the beginning of “The 31 Flavors of October.”  What is that, you ask?  Basically it’s my highly unoriginal way of telling you that I am going to blog about something different every day in October.  There are all kinds of weird observances going on each day this month, and I am going to post about them all.

Just to give you a little taste of what I am talking about, the following list is what I will be blogging about this week:

October 2:  International Day of Non-Violence

The United Nations established this day in 2007 to observe Mahatma Ghandi’s birthday and to continue spreading his message of non-violence.

October 3:  German Unity Day

This year marks the 22nd anniversary of German reunification!

October 4:  World Pet Day

If you pet lovers needed a day to officially recognize your pet, well you have it.  Mark your calendars, folks, and go out and buy Fido a little pressie. 🙂  Also, check with your local churches, kids.  A lot of them bless your pet on this day.

October 5:  World Smile Day

Harvey Ball created the iconic “Smiley Face” nearly 50 years ago in 1963.  On this day, let’s celebrate that cheerful little mug by smiling at strangers and performing random acts of kindness.  It’s the least we can do to honor dear Harvey’s memory.

October 6:  National German-American Day

October is a HUGE month for Germans, don’t ya know?  There’s Oktoberfest,  German Unity Day, German Thanksgiving, and this day for us German-Americans.  Get out those lederhosen and dirndls and start practicing that ländler so you can be as good as Captain von Trapp and Fräulein Maria in the Sound of Music.

Can you tell I’m excited about all the German stuff happening this week? 😉  I love being German.

October 7:  You Matter to Me Day

Is there someone in your life who matters to you?  Have you let them know how much they matter to you?  If you haven’t (or even if you have!) take one second out of your day today and let them know “You matter to me.”

And that, my babies, is a little taste of what you can expect from the 31 Flavors of October.  There is much more to come, so please stay tuned!  Please let me know what you think by leaving a comment below, and if you want to keep up-to-date with what’s going on with this blog, please feel free to subscribe via RSS or e-mail.  I would love to have you!

Leave a comment

14 Comments

  1. I will be ready for the 4th, World pet day for sure, so will my 40 or so Labradors that I have in my life!!!

    Reply
    • Awesome! At the moment I only have one fat, psychotic tabby but I am planning on going through Stray Rescue or the Humane Society to adopt a wee pup. I’ve missed having a dog around. *sigh*

      Reply
  2. Daniela

     /  October 1, 2012

    Well, it is a spring actually -:)!
    Great post!
    Cheers!
    Daniela

    Reply
    • Aye, it IS spring where you are! lol And Crimbo is bikini season. *sigh* I want to go down that way one of these days. I have lots of great friends down there. *fingers xx’ed that I can travel to the future soon*

      Reply
  3. Daniela

     /  October 1, 2012

    LOl -:)! Yep, bikini season is on its way! Make sure you do come; will have a drink of some sort together -:)!

    Reply
    • Wonderfulness! I might put this on my to-do list for holidays next year! I’ve already got Germany and Switzerland somewhat in the works, but I might be able to slip in a few days down under. I’m overdue a good holiday.

      Reply
  4. Wow I didn’t realize there were so many special days in October, looking fore- ward to World Smile day. Loved reading your post.

    Reply
  5. Sounds like an interesting theme! Fall is a transitional month, and my absolute favorite (although in California, it feels like the dead of summer right now). See you in the challenge!

    Reply
  6. What a fun way to approach the challenge! Can’t wait to ready about all these fun celebrations.

    Reply
  7. Angie, that scene from The Sound of Music is one of my favorites. Thanks for that reminder and the other cool October event info.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Sweet Jelly Bean

Indulging Beauty Cravings

Anti-State STL

A clearinghouse for anti-capitalist news & analyses in metro St. Louis

ghostnapped

Ashley Howland Author WordPress.com site

Tamara Tattles

Come for the tea. Stay for the shade.

