Tori Amos Tuesday


Earlier this summer when I gave my blog a facelift I decided, like a gazillion bloggers out there, to have a “Tunesday Tuesday.”  I love music—all of it—so naturally this sort of post appealed to me.   Last week I published my first post for Tunesday Tuesday, I Can’t See New York after the Tori Amos song that people associate with September 11.  It did not get a huge response, but at least some people read it and it is still getting some traffic from the search engines.

cdcovers/tori amos/little earthquakes.jpg

Tori Amos cover of Little Earthquakes 1992 (Photo credit: exquisitur)

On Sunday afternoon as I sat down trying to figure out a good song to post, another Tori Amos song came to me.  I initially wanted to go with “Wuthering Heights” by Kate Bush, but something told me that I just had to go with another Tori Amos song.  Then I thought, “Angie, why not just change Tunesday Tuesday into Tori Amos Tuesday and feature a post about your connection to her songs?”

English: Tori Amos, 16th February 1993, appear...

Tori Amos in London, UK in February 1993 (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

There are a lot of people doing Tunesday Tuesday, but not a lot of people doing a Tori Amos Tuesday on their blog.  Hell, as far as I know, I might be the only one because my search isn’t coming up with anything.  So if you love Tori Amos, you are going to love Tuesdays on the Daily Hottentots because it’s all about her and her awesome music.  If you are not familiar with Tori, I hope that my blog helps you fall in love with her the way I did twenty years ago when I was just a brat in high school.

This week’s Tori song is “Winter”, and it is from her brilliant début solo effort Little Earthquakes, which turns 20 years old this November.  The song is about Tori’s relationship with her father, the Rev. Edison Amos.  If you listen to the lyrics, you will note that it is her father speaking words of encouragement to her:

He says
When you gonna make up your mind
When you gonna love you as much as I do
When you gonna make up your mind
Cause things are gonna change so fast
All the white horses have gone ahead
I tell you that I’ll always want you near
You say that things change
My dear

Whenever I hear this song, I think about a guy I was friends with and briefly dated when I was in my late teens.  This was his favorite Tori Amos song and he always said, “If you want to listen to this song, you have to turn all the lights off in the room, sit or lay real quiet and close your eyes…just let the music wash over you.”

Ever since he suggested listening to this song that way, it’s the only way I can listen to it.  The piano sounds like gentle snowfall and the story that Tori tells us is so beautiful and sweet—and a bit heartbreaking.  Listening to it in the dark with a couple of candles flickering around you really sets the mood and brings out some pretty deep emotions.

And, of course, every time I hear this song (which is at least once every couple of weeks!) I think of my old friend Tommy.  After we moved into a platonic relationship, I set him up with my friend Jen and they absolutely hated one another.  Ah, um…oops…sorry, guys!  And ya know, after that I never really saw Tommy that much. Haha. Hmm.  I wonder what he is up to these days.

Hey, Tommy T, on the remote chance you are out there reading my wee blog, I just wanted to say I’m sorry for setting you up with Jen.  I really thought you guys would get along.

*shakes her head ‘no’ because I’m lying.  I really just wanted to keep Jen away from another guy I was interested in…she knows that now lol*

I will always associate this song with Tommy no matter how many times I hear it.  I had some good times at that point in my life.  Thanks for the memories Tommy T!

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. I love her music. Popped in from SITS!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Sweet Jelly Bean

Indulging Beauty Cravings

Anti-State STL

A clearinghouse for anti-capitalist news & analyses in metro St. Louis

ghostnapped

Ashley Howland Author WordPress.com site

Tamara Tattles

Come for the tea. Stay for the shade.

