Why You Should Be Overjoyed to Go Back to Work on Monday


Ford assembly line, 1913.

Get to work! Ford assembly line, 1913 (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

It’s Monday again, my babies, which means the start of yet another work week.  I know you are getting out of bed, grunting and groaning as you stumble toward your coffee pot, not wanting to go back to work.  You wish that you could just stay home and collect a paycheck for doing nothing, don’t you?

Well, I’m sorry, it ain’t gonna happen.  I am not going to let you play hooky.   You are going to drink your coffee, have a balanced breakfast, get dressed, and go to work.  And you’re going to be happy about it.  All right?

All right….

Now that I have finished lecturing you, I am going to tell you why you should be overjoyed to go back to work today.  I know that you are having a ridiculously hard time trying to imagine the words “overjoyed” and “work” in the same sentence…but I hope that I can help you realize how fantastic work really is.

Take this quote into consideration:

Work spares us from three evils:  boredom, vice, and need.

~Voltaire

It’s a nice quote, yes?  Of course it is, it’s Voltaire.  Everything he said was amazing.   Now let me break it down for you so you will see that work is fantastic and you will want to get up and go every day, not just Monday.

Work Spares Us from Boredom

When you are at work, there is always something to do.  Always.  There is no way possible you could become bored in your workplace.  If you are on the clock and you find that you have nothing to do, go to your boss and ask them to give you something to do, even if it is something that is not in your job description. Do you think that they will turn down your offer to help out with extra work?  Ha!  That’s highly unlikely.   They will appreciate it.  And, hey, they might appreciate it so much that they give you a raise or a promotion.  You never know.  At the very least it will show that you are dedicated and willing to do whatever it takes to move your company forward.

Work Spares Us from Vice

Do you have a filthy habit that you would like to curb or even get rid of completely?  Go to work!  While we are working we are too involved with other things to indulge our habits…well, we should be anyway.  Use some self-control, kids.  If you need a cigarette, wait until your scheduled break to go make yourself smell like a dirty ashtray.  If you get a craving for a cigarette and it’s not time for your break, just immerse yourself in your work.  Cravings only last 10-15 minutes at a time, so it won’t kill you to find a way to get over that hump.  Trust me, I’m a former smoker, so I know how hard it can be to fight those  cravings.

And bear in mind that you will more than likely be fired from the job if they catch you indulging in any other vices, such as gambling, drinking, or using dope, so it’s a good idea to not even entertain the idea.  Work keeps you away from all that bad junk.

Work Spares Us from Need

This, my darlings, is the most important reason of all when it comes to why you should be overjoyed to back to work on Monday.  You are being paid for the time you spend sitting behind a desk or standing at an assembly line or running a cash register at a fast food restaurant.  That right there should be incentive to go to work…and be happy about it, right?  That paycheck helps you pay your bills and put food on the table.  If you just skip out on work you don’t get paid and your paycheck is going to be short.  This of course does not include paid vacation and other paid days off.   Long story short, you need dough to survive.  And to get that dough, you need to work.

So come on people, put a smile on your face and say, “Hell yeah!  It’s Monday!  Time to get out there and make that dollar!”

So are you motivated to get this Monday started right?  Can you smell that money?  I hope so!  Happy start of the new workweek, everybody!

Leave a comment

11 Comments

  1. You gotta be kidding -:))! I do not want to stay home and collect the pay check for doing nothing … I just want to stay home and write all day, every day … and get just enough dough to get me by! And while on that topic, your post is great! Interestingly enough I wrote about work recently too!
    Kind Regards,
    Daniela

    Reply
    • Hmm…that sounds like an interesting idea. I think I want one of those writing gigs, too.

      At any rate, I need something to keep me motivated on a Monday lol. I’m trying to convince myself and others that it’s a fabulous day. Thank Gawd it’s Monday! lol

      Reply
  2. Great post because this is actually how I felt this morning and when I got home this afternoon I was thankful I dragged my ass to work as I got stuff done and would have just sat around the house moping and being lazy if I hadn’t have gone.

    Reply
  3. At this very moment, I’d probably ‘kill’ to get to work. However, I doubt that when I am finally able to return if I feel the same way! 🙂

    Reply
  4. Yes! People make fun of me for liking monday, but there it is. As a stay-at-home mom I could very easily sit at home and do nothing. But I actually like the return of a structured routine, and the feeling of putting a chaotic house back to order. I’ve been called a “sick puppy” for this, but there it is. 🙂

    Reply
  5. As I grow older (I will be turning 60 later this year) I realize that another reason for wanting to go to work is – social interaction! (I know those in service jobs might disagree especially right after they have interacted with a nasty customer-and yes, I’ve been there.) But the older I get, the more it seems I value the interactions with co-workers. And, I value being able – being required in fact – to keep learning. It keeps me young!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Sweet Jelly Bean

Indulging Beauty Cravings

Anti-State STL

A clearinghouse for anti-capitalist news & analyses in metro St. Louis

ghostnapped

Ashley Howland Author WordPress.com site

Tamara Tattles

Come for the tea. Stay for the shade.

