Are You Setting Yourself Up for Failure? Try This One Simple Thing to Guarantee Success!


favorite quote

By failing to prepare, you are preparing to fail

~Benjamin Franklin

Hello my darlings! It’s Friday, so that means the weekend is almost here and it’s time for another edition of Favorite Quote Friday!

Jean-Baptiste Greuze portrait of Benjamin Fran...

Jean-Baptiste Greuze portrait of Benjamin Franklin used on the $100 bill from 1929 until 1993. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Today’s quote comes from a man we all know and love—that sassy ladies’ man and Founding Father Benjamin Franklin.  I think—and you can correct me if I’m wrong—that out of all this nation’s founders old Benji is probably the most  quoted, and it should be obvious why.  He was always short and to the point, and extremely wise.  Did you know that “Honesty is the best policy,” “Time is money,” and “A place for everything, everything in its place” were all first uttered by him?

I could go on all day rattling off Benji quotes, but today I am just going to focus on one, and it is worth repeating:  “By failing to prepare, you are preparing to fail.”  That makes sense, doesn’t it?  If you set goals and don’t do anything to prepare for them, you are going to fail.  There’s no getting around it.  You have to put in a little time and effort.  You can’t honestly believe that things are going to come to you if you just sit there and think about it, do you?  That would be a nice special power to have, but, alas, it is not realistic.

Are you setting yourself up for failure by having big dreams but not having a plan to reach your goals?  Stop dong that to yourself!  And stop expecting others to automatically lavish you with praise or money or some other perk if you have not done one ounce of preparation.

If you want to be successful and reach your goals in life you only have to do one thing: have a plan and follow through with it.  That is all there is to it.

Success

Success (Photo credit: Jeff Hester)

Take my blog, for instance.  I know that it probably does not seem like it, but I do plan and prepare my posts most of the time.  There are times that I just type whatever off the top of my head, but most of the time, I prepare.

I start out by putting an idea on my editorial calendar and giving it a deadline.  Once I finish that, I write out the first draft.  After the draft is finished, I read through it and correct any errors in spelling and grammar.  Then I read it aloud to make sure it sounds right.  Finally, I add pictures and links, and then click publish.  I prepared my post and I consider it a small success just to click the publish button and have my drivel go live for all to see.  It’s an even bigger success when people like that drivel.

I guarantee success will come knocking at your door if you just roll your sleeves up and come up with a plan to meet your goals.  Don’t expect it to come to you overnight.  It rarely does.  It might take weeks, it might take years, but you will be a success at whatever you set your mind to if you prepare!

Do you have any advice you would like to give someone on how to reach their goals?  Sound off by leaving a comment below.  Share your story!

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Well, I can guarantee that if you plan to develop a medical device or drug- you better have it planned out- or you will miss a step. Then, when the FDA wonders how/why it should approve it, you are in a heap of trouble…

    Reply
  2. hilljean

     /  September 14, 2012

    It’s taken me three years of blogging to see a big increase in growth. And I’m still majorly small fry, but I know that I’ve worked for the followers I do have and I love them. It’s a good thing success doesn’t happen overnight for most of us. I don’t know that we would appreciate it if it did!

    Reply
    • Yeah, I know what you mean! I’m pleased when I get 50 readers to come to my blog and I think I am doing pretty all right for a blog that isn’t self-hosted or that old. I just started this in June, so I think I am doing pretty well for such a young blog even though some people might not think it’s all that hot. I’m probably going to be going self hosted soon and doing a lot of promotion, so that might make a difference. *shrugs*

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Sweet Jelly Bean

Indulging Beauty Cravings

Anti-State STL

A clearinghouse for anti-capitalist news & analyses in metro St. Louis

ghostnapped

Ashley Howland Author WordPress.com site

Tamara Tattles

Come for the tea. Stay for the shade.

