I Can’t See New York


My dearest darling babies,  I was going to start officially posting again on Sunday, but I just could not wait to get back to my blog and all my fabulous readers!  I have missed you babies so much and have itched to try out my new daily themes. Please give me some feedback if you haven’t already and let me know what you think about the themes.  And, please, do not hesitate to let me know what topics you would like to see on the Daily Hottentots.  I am always open to suggestions.

So let’s get this blog moving again, all right?

Today is the first installment of Tunesday Tuesday, one of the new daily themes here at the Daily Hottentots.  Each week this theme explores the deeper meaning behind the lyrics of one song.  When I talk about the deeper meaning, I am not necessarily talking about what the deeper meaning is for the songwriter, but for me…and perhaps you, too.

Cover of "Scarlet's Walk"

Cover of Scarlet’s Walk

Today’s song is “I Can’t See New York” by Tori Amos, released on her 2002 album Scarlet’s Walk.

Amos wrote “I Can’t See New York”  before September 11, but the imagery in the lyrics immediately makes you think of that day.   Scarlet is a passenger on a plane that went from Boston to New York.  She lands safely on the ground, but then watches another plane with another woman on it crash mid-air over New York City.  A thread connects Scarlet to this other woman, and when she sees this plane crash above her, Scarlet (as Amos puts it) feels what the other woman felt before she died.

Like all of Tori Amos’ songs (even the upbeat ones) her vocals on “I Can’t See New York” are haunting, make you feel this heart-wrenching emotion.  Just close your eyes and listen to the song and its lyrics:

I can’t see New York
as I’m circling down
through white cloud
falling out
and
I know your lips
are warm
but I can’t seem
to find my way
my way out
of your hunting ground

September 11, 2001 attacks in New York City: V...

(Image: US National Park Service ) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

When I close my eyes and listen to this song, I am immediately taken back to that day.  I had just started my shift as a switchboard operator for a small community hospital in St. Louis when one of the girls from the emergency room’s registration office came over to my window and said, “Hey Angie, a plane just crashed into the World Trade Center.”  She came back a little while later and told me that a second plane had crashed and that the news was saying it was a terrorist attack.  I immediately got on the phone with my parents and told them to turn on the news, and kept my eyes glued to the television for the rest of the day.

It was the worst terrorist attack this country had ever seen.  More than 3,000 innocent souls were lost on that day 11 years ago.  They were cafeteria workers, cops, bankers, Muslims, Christians, Jews.  They went to work, or got on a plane, and paid the ultimate price for doing the things that people all over the country do every day.

And people are still dying as a result of these terrorist attacks.  There are so many first responders out there who are dying of cancer and other incurable diseases because of the toxic air they breathed while they bravely searched through the rubble.

As you go through your daily routine today, you should set aside a few moments to think about these people and what they are going through.  And think about the families who lost loved ones during the attacks.  Light a candle for them.  Do not forget what happened on September 11, 2001.

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Daniela

     /  September 11, 2012

    Welcome back -:)!
    It was and remain terrible in every way imaginable … personally I was in the air on that day flying from Europe to NZ. I will never, ever forget the moment I landed in NZ and very sombre looking airport official took me aside with my little girl in tow and told me that ‘terrorist have attacked USA and third world war might be on the way’ – believe it or not that were his exact words! My first thought was – thanks God I took my child back to NZ!
    Regards,
    Daniela

    Reply
    • It’s the only day of my life that I can remember every detail of from beginning to end.

      A year later, almost to the day, my family and I went to Ireland to visit other family members. When we boarded the plain at Shannon airport, some officiall-looking Irish fellows came on the plane and dragged a guy off with his jacket over his head. That scared the living crap out of me.

      Reply
  1. Tori Amos Tuesday « The Daily Hottentots

Leave a Reply

Sweet Jelly Bean

Indulging Beauty Cravings

Anti-State STL

A clearinghouse for anti-capitalist news & analyses in metro St. Louis

ghostnapped

Ashley Howland Author WordPress.com site

Tamara Tattles

Come for the tea. Stay for the shade.

