Find Your Passion and Fall in Love with Your Life


favorite quote

The essence of life is finding something you really love and then making the daily experience worthwhile.
~Denis Waitley

Last week on Favorite Quote Friday, I talked about living out of your imagination, and paid some last respects to motivational speaker Stephen Covey.  This week’s quote, from another motivational speaker and self-help author, Denis Waitley, is all about finding your passion and using it in your daily life.

Find your passion-Frida Ramstedt

Find your passion (Photo credit: currystrumpet)

Everyone has at least one thing in life that they are passionate about, don’t they?  I have many passions—art, silent pictures, human and animal rights, everything related to the 1920s—and I constantly feel the need to share these things with other people.  That is one of the main reasons I started this blog.  I want to inspire, educate, and find others who share my passions.  And I am thankful that I get the opportunity to share my passions with other people;  it is very satisfying to me.  What are some of your passions?

If you can’t think of anything you are really passionate about, I’m going to give you a little project….

Grab a notebook and a pen or pencil.  (You can also open up a new document on your computer, but I’m old school and get more creative when I have a pen in my hand.)  Once you’ve got your writing materials in front of you I want you to set a timer for five minutes and begin listing all of your interests.  After the timer goes off, look over your list and start circling all the things you like the best.  The things you have circled on your list are your passions.

So now that you have made a short list of the things you are most passionate about, what do you do with them? That’s easy!  You could:

  • Start a blog
  • Start a new  career
  • Volunteer
  • Write a book
  • Invent a product that will help improve people’s lives
  • Join/start a group and interact with others who share your passion(s)

The sky is the limit, my babies!  Once you find your passion and start using it daily in one way or another, I guarantee that you will fall in love with your life.  You will feel fulfilled, accomplished.  You will feel that you have found your purpose in life.   And isn’t that what we all want?

Have you turned your passion into a career, a book, or anything else that can help and inspire other people?  Please share your experiences by leaving a comment below!  I look forward to your feedback!

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. I can’t believe folks have no clue as to their passions. But, then, again…

    And, don’t let someone convince you that your passion is misplaced. It’s yours! Own it, do it, and love it. (And, if it can make you money- the sky’s the limit!)

    Reply
    • This post was inspired by someone who said, “Things just don’ interest me enough to have any real passions.”

      Really? That’s unbelievable to me. Come to find out, that person had half a dozen things they really loved.

      And I will bet you anything that someone, somewhere did what you said. They told them their passion was misplaced, so they sort of shoved it in the back of their minds.

      Reply
  2. I have gone through the struggle to find my passions again after a long time of being a carer for my daughter. My days and nights were filled with looking after her so any extra activities were put on a back burner. Since starting up my blog I have discovered a real love for writing and it has spurred me on to sign up for some writing courses, photography courses and to read a lot more just to improve how I write and what I write.
    I am so glad I started the blog now as I am more motivated than ever before and I can feel I am on the first few steps to a truly fantastic journey!

    Reply
  3. Great blog 🙂 I’ll be back!

    Reply
  4. Hey there! I nominated you for the One Lovely Blog Award! If you want to accept and participate just click here and follow the steps!
    http://copperleaftreasures.com/2012/08/24/one-lovely-blog-award/

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Sweet Jelly Bean

Indulging Beauty Cravings

Anti-State STL

A clearinghouse for anti-capitalist news & analyses in metro St. Louis

ghostnapped

Ashley Howland Author WordPress.com site

Tamara Tattles

Come for the tea. Stay for the shade.

