Readers Get Ready, There’s a Change a Coming….


I’m in an exceptionally good mood today, my babies.  The weekend is almost here, the Ultimate Blog Challenge ends in less than a week (and I have posted EVERY day since July 1…go me!), and a lot of changes are coming to The Daily Hottentots starting this Sunday!  I hope you like everything I have planned because I do write with you, the reader, in mind.  Your input is important to me.

So what sort of changes can you expect here?  Well, for one thing, I am getting rid of the weekly themes that I haven’t paid much attention to.  Since it’s not working for me anymore, I have decided to switch to daily themes.  Here is what the week is going to look like from now on—let me know what you think!

Something Random Sunday

Each Sunday is to the first random thing that pops into my head.  And, trust me, I have a lot of weird, random thoughts.

Motivational Monday

Forget about hating Mondays, ladies and gentlemen.  It’s a fabulous day!  Each Monday I am going to bring you a post that I hope will inspire and motivate you.

Tunesday Tuesday

The 6 Songs series is officially history.  Replacing it is Tunesday Tuesday, a day that will highlight one song and explore the imagery or emotions it brings up, or the deeper meaning behind the lyrics.

Writing Prompt Wednesday

Each Wednesday I am going to choose a writing prompt from somewhere and build a post around it.  The result could be a list, a short story, a poem, a letter I won’t send, etc.   You never know what is going to happen on this day.

Trending Topic Thursday

Believe it or not, one of my big obsessions is keeping up with what’s trending on the web.  BUT, I like to keep up with trends that are just now rising or have the potential to become hot topics.  I tend to stay away from BS like the TomKat divorce.  I also like local trends that might not make the national spotlight.  So if you, dear reader, have a story that you think everyone should know about, please contact me.

Favorite Quote Friday

This is a series that you all know and hopefully love as much as I do.  If you are new to The Daily Hottentots, Favorite Quote Friday is a weekly series that features one of my favorite quotes (I have thousands) and builds a whole blog post around it. The result is usually something that inspires you to act in one way or another.

Silent Star Saturday

Silent Star Saturday is my favorite day to post!  And it seems to be a very popular series with my readers as well.  Each week features an actor or actress who made it big in motion pictures during the silent era.  Some of these stars had lucrative careers once sound film took over the business, some of them didn’t.

And that, ladies and gents, is the new weekly schedule.  What do you think?  I hope you like it.  If you don’t, please I beg you to complain and tell me what you would like to see instead.  My first thoughts are about my readers and what they want.

One more thing before I let you all go… The Daily Hottentots will be turning two months old on August 14, and I have decided to give it a facelift. meaning that it will be getting a new header, color scheme, and other things.  I like the theme I have now (green is my favorite color), but I’m ready for a slight change.  It won’t be anything too different, I promise you.

Thank you all for reading me and I hope to hear from you soon!

Leave a comment

18 Comments

  1. Sounds great … will be checking!

    Cheers!
    Daniela

    Reply
  2. I absolutely love reading your blog and I love the sound of all of those ideas that you have. The Ultimate Blog Challenge has been hectic in posting every day but I have learned loads from it.
    I can’t wait to get my future editions of The Daily Hottentots 😀

    Reply
  3. I copied this blog. And, I’ll be holding you to it!

    Reply
    • Swell, Roy! I admit that all this stuff just popped into my head last night when I had nothing better to do (before watching Big Brother…I really need to get off the reality show crack…lol) but I think sticking to this schedule will be easy and allow me to schedule a lot of posts in advance.

      Reply
  4. This really does sound great….I love classic hollywood too, so I will be tuning in.

    Reply
    • Fantastic, Renee!

      Classic Hollywood is definitely the best. The more I uncover about it the more I realize that people 60 (or more) years ago are generally the same as people today, except society wanted to keep certain things hush-hush.

      Reply
  5. talesfromthelou

     /  July 26, 2012

    Hehehe, I’ll hold you to the new format !

    Reply
    • *fingers xx’ed that I can keep it up…for at least a month until I get bored and move on to another type of schedule…* LOL Damn my ADD. 😦

      Reply
      • talesfromthelou

         /  July 26, 2012

        On acronyms: I personally have CDO. I know it’s not the proper spelling but darn it those letters need to be in order !

      • I’m a wee bit CDO, too. Okay A LOT CDO. ;p I once sent a handwritten letter to a friend of mine, eh? It was only a couple paragraphs long, but it took me TWO hours to write because I wanted to make sure my handwriting was perfect.

  6. Looks like an interesting schedule. It’s been one of the things that’s interested me during UBC-watching other bloggers who maintain a set schedule like this and seeing how it works out. I’m not typically a very organized person, but I’ve been thinking such a set-up might be beneficial. I’ll be watching to see how it goes for you.

    Reply
    • I’m not very organized when it comes to blogging either, and then I go all over the place and eventually get bored. I think sticking to a schedule where I know what I HAVE to write about on a certain day will keep my attention longer.

      *fingers xx’ed*! lol

      Reply
  7. Sounds like fun! Thanks for stopping by on my SITS day. Yes, Gwen has a sense of humor that is for sure.

    Reply
  8. I love these memes you have in store for us! I am looking forward to Motivational Monday and the Random Thoughts. I wont lie I am looking forward to ALL of them!
    I found your blog on blogaholics netowork btw 🙂 I signed up via email to follow you..
    Books and Beyond

    Reply
    • Thank you very much for following me! 😀 I just hope that I don’t have anymore difficulties with my computer and ISP. I really love posting on this blog and have been disappointed that I have not been able to try out my new daily themes yet. I will be starting on Sunday, though. I am trying to prepare several posts as I sit here and type this.

      Reply
  1. Relaunching the Daily Hottentots « The Daily Hottentots

Leave a Reply

Sweet Jelly Bean

Indulging Beauty Cravings

Anti-State STL

A clearinghouse for anti-capitalist news & analyses in metro St. Louis

ghostnapped

Ashley Howland Author WordPress.com site

Tamara Tattles

Come for the tea. Stay for the shade.

