The Top 5 Words That Should Disappear from the English Language


This is going to be a fun week for me.  I am making it all about lists.   I love lists—I love making them and I love reading them.  Lists are awesome.  Don’t you agree?

Words

Words (Photo credit: Southernpixel Alby.us)

I am going to start off my week with a top 5 list of words that I find completely revolting.  I never use them unless I absolutely have to—like now, on this blog post.  Just typing them makes me uncomfortable.

1.  Panties

I hate this word more than any other word in the English language.  I honestly do not know what it is about this word that makes me hate it so much, but it just irritates the living crap out of me.  It sounds gross.   When ladies’ underwear comes up in conversation, I always refer to them as drawers or bloomers.  (And I probably sound like an 85-year-old woman when I do it, but so what…)

2.  Aurora

I hate this word because I can’t bloody say it.  I wind up sounding like the Impressive Clergyman from The Princess Bride…or the dog in the beginning and the end of the Beastie Boys song “Sure Shot”.  “Awowah”

3.  Booger

Booger is an ugly and gross word.  I literally dry heave when I hear/see it.  I’m fine with snot and mucus, but booger freaks me out.

4.  Titties

Seriously…why would anyone use this word?  It sounds so low-class, so trashy. *Shudders*

5.  Spit

I use this word more than any other word on this list, but it still makes me uncomfortable.  And it probably makes me uncomfortable because seeing someone spit makes me sick to my stomach.

And that’s it, ladies and gentlemen.  I can’t bring myself to type any more words I hate—even though there are many, many more.

Are there any words that you would like to see disappear from the English language (or any other language)?  Words that make you cringe just thinking about them?  Let me know in the comments section below.

Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. I love how you worked Adam Horovitz in there. Awowah!

    Reply
  2. LOL – too funny – I guess cultures differ, so as a native Jamaican, most of those words don’t bother me at all – well with the exception of boogers..

    Reply
  3. futurepull

     /  July 15, 2012

    So funny. I can’t believe you say drawers or bloomers. still laughing. I hate spit too and yeah, i gag when someone does it.

    Reply
    • I got those words from my granny (big surprise, eh? lol) And, odd enough, she is also that made me despise the word “titties.” She said that ALL the time. Rather embarrassing.

      Reply
  4. LOL.. I love hearing what words iritate the crap out of others!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Sweet Jelly Bean

Indulging Beauty Cravings

Anti-State STL

A clearinghouse for anti-capitalist news & analyses in metro St. Louis

ghostnapped

Ashley Howland Author WordPress.com site

Tamara Tattles

Come for the tea. Stay for the shade.

