6 Catchy Tunes That Give a Little Thanks


Thanksgiving in the United States is just a little over four months away, but I think that any time is a good time to be thankful for someone or something, don’t you?  That is why this week’s theme on the Daily Hottentots is being thankful.

For centuries we humans have expressed our gratitude through poetry, music, and dance—all of which are effective ways to celebrate and appreciate what matters most in this world.  There are so many songs out there that beautifully express gratitude that it was hard to narrow down the list, but the next six songs are among some of the best ways to say “Thank You” in one way or another.  If anything, they’re catchy and get stuck in your head real easy.

“Thank You for Being a Friend” by Andrew Gold

These days, this song is best known as the theme song for the sitcom The Golden Girls on NBC.  But did you know that it was written by Andrew Gold and appeared on his 1978 album called All This and Heaven Too?  Cynthia Fee made the song really catchy and fast-paced for television, but Andrew’s version is worthy of a finger snap and a toe tap, don’t you think?

Sadly, Gold died last year at the tender age of 59 of renal cancer, but this song will live on forever.  Andrew, we thank you for writing this song!

“Thank You (Falletinme Be Mice Elf Agin)” by Sly and the Family Stone

This song has long been hailed as one of the biggest (if not the biggest) song in funk music.  It was originally released in 1969 as a summary of Sly and the Family Stone’s career in music as well as a thank you to the fans for listening.

“Thank Heaven for Little Girls” (music and lyrics by Lerner and Loewe)

This song was written in 1957 by Alan Jay Lerner and Frederick Loewe for the musical Gigi, and sung with great success by that dapper Frenchman Maurice Chevalier.  Peter Sellers did a cover of this tune using his Inspector Clouseau accent, but it wasn’t nearly as memorable as Chevalier’s version.

“Kind & Generous” (also known as “Thank You”) by Natalie Merchant

Natalie Merchant’s voice has a way of getting in your head all. day. long if you let it.  Next time you go to the supermarket and you hear this song playing overhead, I dare you to not sing the “na na na na na na na” bit in this tune.  I know it can’t be just me who does this.

This  video is rather bizarre…the clown scares the crap out of me.

“Thank You” by Dido

Dido is still out there recording and performing for live audiences, but you don’t really hear that much about her these days, do you?

The song “Thank You” was written in 1999 as a tribute to the British pop singer’s then boyfriend Bob Page, and remains her only big hit.  Unfortunately, Dido and Bob broke their engagement a little over 10 years ago, so he is probably no longer responsible for giving her the best day of her life.

“I Thank You”  by Sam & Dave

This song was tailor-made for Sam & Dave.  It was written by Isaac Hayes and Dave Porter…and sounded like every other hit Sam & Dave were known for, doesn’t it?  “Soul Man”, “Hold On, I”m Comin,” and “I Thank You” all have the same beat, really.  If Nickelback had talent, they would be a lot like Sam & Dave.  But I can guarantee you that no one will be singing Nickelback songs 50 years from now.

What other catchy songs about giving thanks can you think of?  Do you have any favorites not listed here?  Please let me know by leaving a comment below.  I look forward to your feedback!

Leave a comment

14 Comments

  1. I loved this post. These are all songs I’ve known and sung throughout my life. What a delightful lift you gave to my day.
    Thank You!
    Peace and good to you.

    Reply
  2. Ah, Angie, the Golden Girls. There’s a blast from the past! I loved them! Some of your other choices were new to me – I’d never heard the Natalie Merchant one, though I remembered Dido’s ‘Thank You’ when it started playing. So thanks for sharing.

    Reply
  3. Oh, I love Thank You For Being a Friend! And Chevalier is a classic. But I’m a bit of a country girl when it comes to music, so my first thought was Keith Urban’s “Thank You”, which is a thank you message to his wife and quite beautiful.

    Thanks for sharing your catchy tunes.

    Reply
    • Thanks for commenting, Cheri! And I have to admit that I am totally ignorant when it comes to new country, so I was unaware of that Keith Urban song until now. 🙂 Thanks for introducing me to it!

      Reply
  4. photogcynthia

     /  July 10, 2012

    What fun. I especially liked the Natalie Merchant. Thanks for sharing this music. I was just stopping by from SITS and am so glad I did. I am looking forward to reading more of your blog.

    Reply
  5. Another great post Angie, well done.

    Reply
  6. Any time I sing a thank you to a friend it’s the theme song from the Golden Girls. Man that show was stellar!

    Reply
  7. The theme song from Golden Girls was in my head too. I don’t know the title of the song but I can sing the words. Thank you for being my friend.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Sweet Jelly Bean

Indulging Beauty Cravings

Anti-State STL

A clearinghouse for anti-capitalist news & analyses in metro St. Louis

ghostnapped

Ashley Howland Author WordPress.com site

Tamara Tattles

Come for the tea. Stay for the shade.

