Blogging Habits I Developed After Just One Week of the Ultimate Blogging Challenge


/

Last Sunday I began a month-long challenge to get me into the habit of blogging regularly, and it has helped tremendously.  After just one week,  I am able to sit down and knock out posts without even really thinking about it.

Okay, I do think about it—a lot—but you catch my drift, don’t you?

So now with a full 8 days under my belt, I am going to share with you a few great habits that I’ve developed after just one week of participation in the Ultimate Blog Challenge.

It Is Entirely Possible to Write a Post in 30 minutes Or Less

Lux Products' Minute Minder timer.

Set that timer and get to writing! (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

When I sit down to write a post, any post, I set my little ladybug timer for 30 minutes and get to writing.  Usually, at the end of the 30 minutes, I am all done.  Sometimes it takes a little less time, sometimes it takes a little more.  But setting the timer has really helped me get out my thoughts without constantly going back and editing myself.  I have had that problem for more than 20 years, and I have finally been able to kick it!

Setting the timer has also helped me keep my posts down to a readable 300-600 words.  In the past, I would ramble for well over 1,000 (yes one thousand) words every post.  No one was reading….

I Have Become More Positive

Free positive thoughts

Positive thoughts (Photo credit: mkismkismk)

If you look back at my early posts on this blog, you will see that they have a sort of negative spin.  I am super critical of this, that, and what have you and it honestly made me come off as a real (expletive) and a know-it-all.

I really like the metamorphosis my blog and my attitude has taken since I started this challenge.

I Ignore the Negative Nag in My Head and Click Publish Even When I Dislike a Post

English: Voices in Your Head's album cover for...

Voices in Your Head (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

One of the lovely hosts of the UBC, Michele Shaeffer, wrote a great post titled Just Shut Up and Ship It that talks about ignoring the voices in your head that try to discourage you from posting content.  This is important to me, because if I always listened to the voices in my head, I wouldn’t even have a blog.  I always look back on posts and think, “Why the heck did I say that?  How embarrassing…”  And then it shocks me when readers actually like it and share it with other people.

Seeing this type of response is really good for my self-esteem, and it really helps me to stop over-editing my content and waiting for the right time to publish it.  Again, if I waited for the “right time” I would not even have a blog.

And…guess what, folks…the timer has gone off.  My 30 minutes are up.   The little ladybug is telling me that it is time to wrap up this post and do some editing!

If you are participating in the Ultimate Blog Challenge, please let me know how it is going for you, and anything you have learned about yourself.  Has it helped you develop any habits that have made your blogging experience better?

Leave a comment

14 Comments

  1. I have found the same. Blogging helps us to have more of an understanding of ourselves and these examples are a result of that. and yes It is possible to write a post in less than 30 mins 🙂

    Reply
  2. Angie great post-love your timer idea! And these UBC also help me keep my time more manageable!

    Reply
    • I got the timer idea from an old article on Problogger. And I thought that the UBC challenge would be a great opportunity to try it out and see how it works. And it’s worked out fantastically well!

      Reply
  3. i definitely struggle with the same things!! constantly doubting what i should write or how it’s sounding. the ultimate blogging challenge this month has definitely helped with this.

    it feels more like a fun project than a stressful project or something that would turn me off to blogging. but it’s given me a goal to press publish about once a day. that’s around double what i usually publish. it also helps with the blog-doubt, because i know i’m trying to say something every day, and it doesn’t have to be the be-all-end-all of content. it just has to come together with the rest of my blog to show a snapshot of me.

    Reply
    • I agree. It’s something I look forward to every day. Writing and reading what everyone else has written. It makes me want to go out and find other challenges once this one is over for the month. :p

      Reply
  4. I’m going to try the timer, Angie. I’m still at the ‘3 hours per post’ stage. Also, love the photos and your layout.

    Reply
    • Thanks very much, Susan. The worst advice I ever followed was that you have to take at least three hours to write a good post. I employed this tactic on my blog about old Hollywood, and the result was that all my posts were extremely long and sounded like a boring lecture. My “voice” wasn’t in it.

      Now there might be some topics that require research, which will take some time. And there may be posts that simply must go on…and on…and on…. But I have found that if this sort of thing goes on with every post, I burn out quickly.

      Some of my images on here are my own, and some I get from public domain sites and Wiki. The theme I use here on WP (Comet) allows you to do a lot of editing yourself. I made my header image on PicMonkey. 😀

      Reply
  5. This blog challenge has given me plenty to read, that’s for sure. Maybe I need to use a timer for that part at least.
    As for what I’m getting out of this challenge so far – I’m finally writing up posts that I had ideas for months ago. I started a little notebook with blog post ideas, and it just sat there. Now that I need to blog daily, I’m flipping through and finally getting to those old ideas.

    Reply
    • Yes, that’s exactly what I am doing, Sunfire. 🙂 I have all sorts of ideas that really didn’t go with the themes in my old blogs that I can fit in here because I’m being a bit experimental with it.

      The only problem I am having right now is trying to find posts to fit my weekly themes.

      Reply
  6. What awesome results! 🙂 I’ve found the same thing has happened for me with blog challenges–I’ve learned to write and publish so much quicker.

    Thanks for linking to my post, Angie.

    Reply
  1. writing like a junkie « Blog Medic
  2. New 20 lines Photo challenge | 20 LINES A DAY – an exercise in discipline

Leave a Reply

Sweet Jelly Bean

Indulging Beauty Cravings

Anti-State STL

A clearinghouse for anti-capitalist news & analyses in metro St. Louis

ghostnapped

Ashley Howland Author WordPress.com site

Tamara Tattles

Come for the tea. Stay for the shade.

