This July I Am Blogging to Find My Voice


Ultimate Blog ChallengeJuly marks the beginning of a brand new Ultimate Blog Challenge hosted by Michele Scism and Michelle Schaeffer.  The goal of the challenge is to get new bloggers and seasoned vets in the blogosphere to write something new every day for an entire month, and you are encouraged to read and share content from other bloggers who are participating in the challenge with you.

If you’re interested in doing the challenge with me and more than 400 others, please go to the Ultimate Blog Challenge website and find out how you can take part.  It’s not too late to sign up!

I am going to use this challenge to finally find my blogging voice.  I have struggled a lot with who and what I am when it comes to my blogging style.  I have blogged on all types of things—history, Hollywood, politics, activism—and I never stick with it, even though blogging is something I enjoy doing a whole lot.

I really do like sharing my thoughts with the world and getting feedback, but for some reason all my past attempts have fallen flat.  I post regularly for a month or two (sometimes much less) and then I get bored and get rid of the blog completely.

I know what the problem is—it’s that I have a short attention span and lose interest in things rather quickly.  And I am hoping that the Ultimate Blog Challenge and being a part of a large group of bloggers will help me correct this problem.  Certainly there are others who can identify with me here, yes?

And who knows, by the time this month is over I might find out that blogging really isn’t for me, even though I have done it on and off for about 10 years now.  Or perhaps I will find that my blog needs to go in a completely different direction than what I had originally intended.  I just have to wait and see.

If you are participating in the challenge, what do you expect to get out of it?  Please let me know by leaving a comment below.  And if you want to keep up with my progress, you can subscribe to the daily updates via RSS or e-mail.  I look forward to your feedback!

Leave a comment

31 Comments

  1. ideasexplorer

     /  July 1, 2012

    You already blogged consistently for 10 years! So blogging for one month is definitely no challenge for you… 😉

    Reply
    • Yep, I have had blogs by the name of Gatsby is Dead, Haphazard Girl, Punchdrunk Insomniac, etc. Some of them were real popular only after a couple weeks, but for some reason I couldn’t stay motivated for more than a few weeks at a time. *fingers xx’ed that I can keep up with this*

      Reply
      • ideasexplorer

         /  July 1, 2012

        Yes hopefully! We all like new challenges and new opportunities, and that’s why we prefer leaving the old ones to pursue new interests. However, I think some persistence might be good as well.

  2. allisonrapp

     /  July 1, 2012

    Angie, thanks for asking… I hope to get more subscribers for my ezine, which is focused on helping Feldenkrais® practitioners get more clients. It’s a pretty narrow focus, and I know that consistently putting out material that helps them does get more subscribers. I’m grateful for the challenge because it gave me the internal motivation to organize my overarching theme in a way that I think I can blog all month without stress.

    One of the things I do with my clients is help them find their marketing voice, so your theme piques my curiosity and I’ll be interested to see how it develops over the next weeks!

    Cheers!

    Reply
    • Thanks so much for your comment, Allison. I’ll definitely be on the lookout for your blog because what you do interests me. I’m always poking my nose around those sorts of blogs. 😀

      Reply
  3. I am also part of the challenge and I am hoping it will open up my blog to others but also let me see some of the other stories, thoughts and creative mumblings of people in the virtual world. I hope you get what you want out of it. Best of luck!

    Reply
  4. Great post, Angie! I’m in the challenge and totally stoked. I started early and have been posting regularly for almost two weeks now. I was thinking I’d just have fun and it’s turned into an obsession that I think about all day! Lol! I love the voice you’re using in this post, and it makes me wonder if you haven’t already found your voice but just don’t realize it. Here’s to finding a pace that keeps you inspired, my friend!

    Reply
    • Oceana, frankly I am shocked that I have managed to post somewhat regularly for the past couple weeks without the challenge! I joined up last week and have been waiting, rather impatiently, for it to begin. But I looked back at this blog this morning and thought, “Holy cow!” I have accomplished at least a little something with this blog so far. And I’m getting traffic from sites like StumbleUpon and Reddit, which motivates me to continue on. 🙂

      Reply
  5. You know, I definitely feel where you are coming from. I’ve started countless blogs only to drop them after a number of posts. The blog I’m working on now–the one for this 31-day challenge!–I’ve had going for a few months now with frequent weekly posts. It’s definitely hard to keep a blog going! But the way I’ve been doing this one is by figuring out what to blog about before I started. My blog is focusing on writers and books, so I always have some kind of topic to fall back on to create posts, even if I’m not really feeling it. Of course, it helps that it’s part of my professional develop too! In your experience with a number of different blogs, did you ever plan beforehand? Did it help? I wish you the best of luck with this blog, and I hope the 31-day challenge helps you! 🙂

    Reply
    • Thanks so much for your thoughts, Amanda Marie! I wish I could say that planning beforehand helped my past endeavours lol. Unfortunately, that wasn’t the problem. I always have some sort of plan…but then I get bored with what I planned. lol

      I think it’s my ADD and not really promoting my blogs in the past that made everything flat line.

      Reply
  6. I completely understand your predicament. I’ve had 2-3 different blogs over the past few years, but the last 2 years, I’ve started to really find my groove.

    This is an aside, but have you ever read “Refuse to Choose” by Barbara Sher? If not, I highly recommend it. It sounds like you may be what she calls a “scanner”. This is someone who has a lot of interests and aptitudes and feels tied down by just choosing one….or ten! 🙂 (I’m a scanner, definitely)

    So…I have a friend who maintains about 5 blogs I think to keep up with his interests…I don’t know if you’re that prolific, but there’s no reason not to do so if it works for you!

    I can also empathize with your finding your voice. I’ve been there and am continuously working toward being more clear and effective in my communication. It’s worth the effort. Looking forward to following you during the blog challenge! 🙂

    Reply
    • I haven’t read “Refuse to Choose” but I am definitely going to look it up! Thanks very much for the suggestion.

      The scanner thing looks accurate. lol You know that I have already thought of 3 or 4 different types of blogs that I could be doing right now? My mind goes in a thousand different directions at once. It’s a bit maddening!

      Reply
  7. Hi, Angie. Good to meet you through the challenge. I love how you’re open to what might happen through the challenge and that you want to find your voice. Maybe your voice doesn’t have to fit into a box or an expectation, though. It sounds like you’re judging who you are and how you do things. Maybe your various interests, billions of ideas and continual bouncing from thing to thing is perfect just as it is. That’s your nature and it’s awesome. Maybe you can combine that into one blog that consistently sticks around but allows you to be all of who you are within it. Just my thoughts . . .

    Reply
    • Thank you, Leanne. I think being random and unpredictable is the secret to my success in life. People expect me to go in 50 different directions. Perhaps I should just accept this quirk and roll with it!

      Reply
  8. More than anything, I like that my blog allows me to keep detailed descriptions of all the events in my life. Maybe I won’t see the value in that right away, but I know that years from now, I’m going to appreciate the collection of all my thoughts and pictures in one place 🙂

    Reply
  9. I am just like you! I tell myself that I am going to stay on a consistent posting schedule but it never lasts. It’s not because I lose interest, but because I always get busy and blogging is the first thing that falls off my list. I’ve joined this blogging challenge hoping that accountability and support will help me to start developing better blogging habits. Good luck with the challenge!

    Reply
    • Yes! Bloody life gets in the way sometimes. *sigh* If you go back through the last dozen posts on what is supposed to be a site with daily posts, you will see that I fell behind a wee bit. My birthday is to blame for that…but now I have nothing really standing in my way…so no excuses! 😉

      Reply
  10. For me, I blog both for fun and to help people while having fun blogging (writing). The reason I joined the Blog Challenge is to challenge myself to keep focused more on the things in my life that are fun and to stop getting distracted by things that I don’t enjoy as much but feel I should do. It’s my tendency to work, work, work and delay fun but I’m trying to do both (work with fun)!

    Reply
  11. talesfromthelou

     /  July 1, 2012

    Nah, I’ll just be lazy and listen to music.
    https://dailyhottentots.wordpress.com/2012/07/01/this-july-i-am-blogging-to-find-my-voice/
    Love your stuff by the way. Lou

    Reply
  12. Hi Angie!
    I love your blog design and title. It’s so welcoming! Thank you so much for linking to Refreshingly Riki. I am looking forward to following your journey throughout the challenge and learning from your extensive blogging experience!

    Reply
    • Not a problem, Riki. I link to articles that I think go well with my own content. If I’m anything, I’m a good judge of well-written material by other people (sometimes my judgment lapses when it comes to my own stuff lol.)

      I’m no expert at blogging, really, but I am a seasoned vet. And sometimes I kick myself for not keeping some of the old blogs around for longer than I did. I need to get over my fickle behavior!

      Reply
  13. Hi Angie..
    Thanks so much for stopping by my blog and leaving a comment. I really appreciate it. What a great post! I have joined the UBC off and on since 2009 I love what I come away with at the end… Lots of great connections..and that’s what keeps me re-joining. time after time. I look forward to reading your posts this month and in the future!!

    Reply
  1. 5 Fantastic Places to Find Inspiration for Your Next Blog Post « The Daily Hottentots
  2. Goals for July | Holistic me
  3. Blogging Habits I Developed After Just One Week of the Ultimate Blogging Challenge « The Daily Hottentots

Leave a Reply

Sweet Jelly Bean

Indulging Beauty Cravings

Anti-State STL

A clearinghouse for anti-capitalist news & analyses in metro St. Louis

ghostnapped

Ashley Howland Author WordPress.com site

Tamara Tattles

Come for the tea. Stay for the shade.

