I Do Not Forgive and I Do Not Forget


RANT, this way

RANT, this way (Photo credit: Nesster)

Ladies and gentlemen, you will have to forgive me for this wee rant today but I have been ticked off for the past several days because of some pretty nasty things some jerk said to me.  My creative thoughts will be stifled until I get this crap off of my chest.  I do not like to use this blog as a rant dump, but today is just one of those days.

I hope the jerk that ticked me off reads this!  And I hope that some of you out there can relate to what I am about to say….

The other day on my Facebook, I was on one of my political rants about so-called “liberals” and this “friend” who is apparently on the right-wing lunatic fringe started posting extremely profane comments on the thread.  He called me names that began with a “c” and a “b” and pretty much everything in between, and told me that he thought anarchists should be lined up and shot to death.

(For those of you who don’t know, I am an anarchist, and I am used to that guy’s brand of volatility…)

He went on and on with his macho flag-waving super patriotism whilst I shoved my finger down my throat and gagged, disappointed that he couldn’t see me mocking him and his American exceptionalism.  For every “America is the greatest nation on earth” comment he threw at me, I pointed out American imperialism all over the world and how innocent young troops were being duped into killing loads of civilians overseas for corporate interests.

His flag-waving (and apparently his drinking) continued, and so did my eye-rolling.

Then came this:

your [expletive] grandparents were nazis or nazi sympathizers, no? or they simply sat back and let hitler come to power. so you are german? Huh…that helps expalin (sic) some of your sick [expletive] views. and if you hate america, why the [expletive] are you here?

Out of all 74 comments on that thread, that one ticked me off more than any other.  People know I am very protective of my family and that I am proud of my German heritage.  And they also know that I loathe, hate, despise and abominate the Nazis more than anything in this world.  I refuse to associate with anyone who uses such vile and disgusting language in my presence.

The funniest part is that the jerk thinks I hate America because I am 110% against war regardless of how “just” the government says it is.  It’s as if he thinks military action and bombs are the only things that define America.

I do not forgive people like that.  They are dead to me.  I also do not forget it when they call my family—whom they have never met—Nazi sympathizers just because they happen to be German.

He certainly is not the only person to call me derogatory names.   I am used to criticism.  But he just found out that I do not sit around and take it for long.  I cut negative people out of my life.  I do not feel the need to help them through their addictions and mental issues, especially when they have gone out of their way to be nasty to me.  Forget it, buddy.  You messed with the wrong chick.

I do apologize to everyone for this long-winded rant, but I just had to get it off my chest and let it go because it has bothered me for longer than I want it to.  Now back to regularly scheduled blogging…

I feel loads better now!

Leave a comment

13 Comments

  1. This person sounds absolutely rude and obnoxious !! I hope you have deleted them from your life !

    First of all, as a ‘so-called-friend’ – how dare he even say something about your family ? It doesn’t matter how politically inclined one is – keep the family out of it. You have an opinion,express it but do not be dragging peoples families, and backgrounds into it.
    I’m nowhere near being interested in politics; but I do feel that the US government is exploiting its people with the whole ‘we’re the best in the world’ and ‘lets have a war on terror’.

    I have grown up with German friends and they are all proud of their heritage and culture; and every one of them does not see themselves associated with the Nazi era / that thought process. They are horrified by it. Even with my lack of political sensibilities, I know that I would never even as a joke reference something like the Nazis to my friends.

    Reply
    • Thanks for your thoughtful reply. And, yes, they have indeed been “deleted” from my life. ;) I do not tolerate such foolishness.

      I like to keep this blog positive and uplifting, but I just HAD to vent today. All my ideas and inspiration were bullied out of the way by how angry this dude made me. People should not have to put up with this crap over something as stupid as politics.

      Reply
  2. Everyone needs a rant every now and then. The block part of Face book can be very useful, everyone has a right to express their opinions!

    Reply
    • Angie Hottentots-Laurel

       /  October 16, 2012

      I am someone who does not like to block people. I think everyone should be allowed to express their opinions. I welcome any opposing opinions (and people oppose MY opinions often lol). However, he became too abusive to my friends, calling them names as well, so he had to get the block. :(

      Reply
  3. I will pray for this person, they are obviously coming from a sick and confused placed.

    Reply
  4. I am GLAD you feel loads better now! Because from what I read above, especially the type of language this person uses … my dear why even bother? People who communicate in such way are not worth even a second of any sensible person’s time. There is no reasoning at that level … just move on, and perhaps make a mental note to not waste time, and/or energy on any such occurrences.
    Take Care,
    Daniela
    P.S. Very pleased to know you are of European descent!

    Reply
    • I’m usually able to just roll my eyes at people and move on…but he said “Nazi” and I became really angry. It’s strange how one little word can infuriate a person…especially when he attached it to members of my family, who were victims of those creatures.

      And yep, mostly German with a wee touch of English and Irish on my mother’s side. :D

      Reply
  5. WOW! I’m pretty even-tempered but that would have gotten my goat too. My mom, God bless her soul, used to tell us that what many people say in anger or when drunk is what they actually feel and was bottling up inside. I’m glad you are done with that person. Sometimes we have to shed people from our lives.

    I’m glad you are feeling much better now.

    Reply
  6. I never understand why folks consider name calling and broad generalizations the key to discussing items at hand. Since the ad hominem considerations prove that the individual cannot explain the position clearly (to oneself and others, both), who does this person think will the ally? The fellow stupids, the fellow no-nothings?
    Sorry… some children have to be left behind…

    Reply
  1. Sometimes We Have to Shed People from Our Lives « The Daily Hottentots
  2. Hate Is a Pointless Emotion « The Daily Hottentots

Leave a Reply

Sweet Jelly Bean

Indulging Beauty Cravings

Anti-State STL

A clearinghouse for anti-capitalist news & analyses in metro St. Louis

ghostnapped

Ashley Howland Author WordPress.com site

Tamara Tattles

No Tea, No Shade News on Entertainment and Current Events News

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 645 other followers

